The Malacanang just announced earlier that President Rodrigo Duterte appointed the Hip-hop collective Ex Battalion as National Artists for Music.

The Order is the highest state honor conferred on individuals deemed as having done much for their artistic field. Deserving individuals must have been recommended by both the Cultural Center and the National Commission on Culture and the Arts prior to receiving the award. Such people are then titled, by virtue of a Presidential Proclamation, as National Artist (Filipino: Gawad Pambansang Alagad ng Sining, “National Servant of the Arts Award”), and are inducted into the Order.

Ex Battalion, normally shortened to Ex B, is a Filipino hip hop collective formed in Manila, members include: Bosx1ne, Flow-G, Skusta Clee, Emcee Rhenn, King Badger (Jon Guttierez), Brando, KentMNL, Bullet-D, Mckoy, Jekkpot, Cent, and Reid Villavicencio.

The group has spawned songs such as ‘No Games,’ ‘Tell Me,’ and the runaway hit ‘Hayaan Mo Sila.’ Hayaan Mo Sila is said to be one of President Duterte’s favorite songs and his staff have said in past interviews that he often sings the song when takes a bath every morning.

What is your reaction to this? Comment below!